A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Not Harden Gala!

I was up just after 5.00am this morning- I don't know why. I had no hares to hunt and I wasn't capturing a spectacular sunrise.
I helped out at a coffee morning from 10 till 12 and on the away home saw some of our 'Players' preparing the float for the Gala parade.

Home for lunch and then up to watch the Gala parade and see friends in the Gala field.

Well that was the plan! I sat down for a cup of tea and fell asleep for 2 hours!!
If you want to get a glimpse of it see Wendles56

Chris came back from his stint on the miniature steam train and went out to garden so I followed him out and found this little clematis trailing amongst the poppies and 'London Pride at the top of the garden. I think it is the first time it has flowered and it obviously needs something to climb on. It is quite a small flower about 1" and is flowering nearly a month after the others that do climb along the wall. I rather like it.

I don't know if childrens' Galas are a Yorkshire thing but I have known them in this locality since I was a child. There is usuallly a parade through the village or town with fancy dress, themed floats and a band. There is a Gala Queen with attendants and in the 'field' there are stalls and attractions aimed at children. There are children's races and a tea tent too. Luckily today the weather held off despite the forecast. A pity I missed it! Thank you all for your kind messages yesterday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.