In the attic

I am so grateful that Corin organised the attic and it's contents a few months back.

After spending a couple of hours doing family tree research this afternoon, with a good deal of success, I decided to go hunting for family photos in the attic. The plan is to start scanning them and building up a real digital portfolio of our family, so that when James wants to know about us all, he does not have to go through this difficult process of piecing the jigsaw together himself.

I have two large boxes full of photos that my Dad passed on to me last year, for me to start this process. The carrier bag and pile of stuff you see next to me in this picture is a selection (of about 300 images) from the first box.

Mammoth task ahead.

However, I am inspired, both by the lovely evening I had yesterday (I blipped really late - if you didn't see it, please have a look as it is a portrait, and as my pictures go, I am really quite pleased with how I captured my subject!) and also by successfully managing to identify my dad's mother's family line back another 4 generations on her mother's side. I have a line of family on my paternal side that I have managed to trace back to the early 1800's - now it's getting difficult because records are less accurate and often just don't exist before 1820ish.

So, it's off for a bit of Kinect Sports with James, then back here for scanning.

The photos I took yesterday are uploaded to my usual places - if you are interested, you know where to find them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.