Cuz

Meet Robbie, my slightly older cousin (only slightly).

After mooching about for a couple of hours when I got home and being bored, I decided around 8pm that I was going to go over to Waterloo/Crosby to go for a walk on the beach. I let Rob know, and when I parked outside his house an hour later, he was waiting at the door.

We went for a bracing (freezing, wet, blustery) walk along the beach, walked back along the front to see the house of the captain of the Titanic, grabbed some cash and went for a quick drink at "The Volunteer Canteen" - tiny pub, a house really, lovely, warm, friendly. This is where this photo was taken.

We then went back to Rob's for a coffee ("posh" - done with a proper coffee machine, frothy milk etc) and then decided to open the box of family heritage that has been lurking in his shed for years. Then we lost an hour. Photos of our Grandma and Grandad throughout their years and other, much more distant (in the past), family members who we have yet to figure out who they are. Grandad's glasses were there, along with a bag which contained a beautiful piece of crochet work, unfinished, which we think might have been Grandma's last one. There was a postcard in there from my Dad to his Aunty and Uncle, from a ski-ing holiday in Austria when he was in his teens. All sorts of treasures. A date is being planned to take the scanner over to get it all digitally recorded.

Home now. Sleep soon - when the caffeine wears off.

My intrigue for family history has returned so I guess I know what I will be doing tomorrow.

Cheers Cuz - it was a pleasure, as always.
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.