Fascination

Simple things.
A ladybird that James spotted. He was trying to coax into onto his youngest cousin's hand, but Henry was having none of it. Then came Eve...and she sat with it crawling up her arm and she was utterly transfixed. Still and quiet for at least two minutes.

Having been and had my hair done this morning, a week late - it was supposed to be last Sunday but I had to cancel due to the urgent need to attend the hospital with my dodgy back - James and I then headed off down to see my Dad.

We had a lovely afternoon, with Dad showing James his old school reports and certificates and regaling him with stories of how little he attended at school in his final year and his ultimate revenge on the Headteacher who suspended him (for his absence) - Dad got the prize for the best O'Level results, as he spent all of his time in the library, studying, during his suspension. The Head had to present the school prize to him!!!

At some point in the afternoon, the best line I have ever heard from my Dad...he was telling James that his kitchen scales were not accurate/sensitive enough for measuring out the hops and other bits that he needs when he is home brewing, so he bought himself a set of digital scales...really small, pocket sized in fact and I quote
"Just like the drug dealers use"

I nearly choked on my coffee!

This was after the tale of him shooting a rat that was scurrying along the fence in the back garden, pinching the bird food.

Life is never dull with my popsicles.

The lunacy continued with the arrival of my sister, her husband and their small mob of whirlwinds. They ran James ragged for an hour and then they departed. James slept on the way home!!!

It was a lovely afternoon. I managed to drive as well although I am paying a little for a 70 mile round trip. I have consumed codeine to take the edge off - it's not so much agonising as uncomfortable and stiff. I am sure someone will make some sort of smutty comment based on that last statement.

I have fed my boys. The ironing is almost done. I have entered my five images of choice for the Astronomy Photographer of the Year comp (if my moon shots are good enough for the BBC, then I think I should give it a go, right?). I am ready for school tomorrow.

I promise I will take it easy tomorrow and not do anything silly to aggravate the back. I have painkillers and painkiller gel - different types so as not to overdose - just in case.

Happy Fathers Day to my Dad, to my husband and my Grandads, who as ever, are in my heart and my head. James and I love you all heaps xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.