In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Below deck

I survived the 'circle party' gathering for the 4 year old 'princess'! Just about. Tantrums and tension galore. I escaped the assault on my eardrums and retired to the relative peace and quiet of the Loggerfestival in Vlaardingen! (An annual maritime event).

It was fun to soak up the atmosphere for a couple of hours and gaze at the fabulous old sailing boats filling the Oudehaven (old harbour). The highlight of the day was definitely enjoying the rare opportunity to board the Balder, an old fishing ship which is permanently on display at the Oudehaven outside the fishing museum.

This shot was taken below deck where I sat for quite a while, enjoying the wonderful cozy atmosphere. These tiny quarters sleep 12 fishermen! Claustrophobic! Although the actual 'beds' looked reasonably spacious. I felt quite at home here, it definitely reinforced the idea that I need to live permanently aboard a ship! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.