All Is Grace

By allisgrace

Biggest Fan~

Today we celebrate Father's Day in the States~a friend of mine put it best when she said that "a girl never forgets the first man she truly loves...her dad." I find this quite an apt statement since my dad, John, was such an easy man to love. He was large in stature, spirit and voice...full of humor, loyalty, hard work and dedication to his family. He always referred to me as "The Baby" or "My May". He and I had a very special bond...I always thought of him as my biggest fan. He would remind me so many times of the night I was born...how beautiful I was with all my curly dark hair "done up" in a big pink ribbon by one of the nurses, and then would continue to tell me how my beauty increased (inside and out) throughout the years...(well, there's a dad's impartial view, I guess!) Heaven holds him now, but I realize he's always there, just beyond the veil, no doubt, still my biggest fan~

"From the first breath she breathed
When she first smiled at me
I knew the love of a father runs deep
Someday you might know what I'm going through
When a miracle smiles up at you
I loved her first."

~From the song, "I Loved Her First" by Heartland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.