My Angle

By myangle

Garvin

I took my nephew fishing this morning. Garvin is off with the army to do a seven month tour of duty in one of the most hostile places in the world. He leaves Tuesday. I told him to be careful. What else could I say.

Last night he was supposed to turn up at 8.30pm so we could go for drinks. He rolled in at 3.30am this morning! His excuse was that the girls were keeping him busy. Hmmmm. At least he got up when I woke him at 6am. Good for him. You are only young once.

From his early teens until he was sixteen we did a lot of stuff together. At the time I advised him to join the army and get out of the situation he was in. Well, he did end up in the army. He is keeping up a bit of a family tradition. Not sure if he took my advice but I do know that he wants to follow in his step-father's and my footsteps. We were both in the army in many years ago. The thing is that if I was to give him advice I wouldn't suggest he go looking for trouble. Experience tells me that if he looks, trouble will surely find him. He will need to find that out for himself.

I suppose that is why we have soldiers. One thing I know is that he will be serving with Australias best. He should be proud of his achievements so far.

The fishing was pretty crap by the way. Garvin fielded a lot of calls on his phone from what seemed like a lot of girls. Good for him. He is about to have a seven month girl drought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.