michigan man

By outdoorguy

A Rip-Snorting Robin

A long time ago...my dad and my sister and I decided we needed some golf balls. My dad and I had been to a course, and had hit a few balls into a certain pond...soooo, we rationalized that we should be able to get them back. It was a dark-of-night operation. We dove down 5-6 feet, and when you did...you could bring up as many golf balls as your little mucky hands could hold. 4-5-6-7 at a time. We ended up with 2200 golf balls.

The fun part was the sorting the next day. 1200 were marked or slashed badly.(What are people thinking when they use a ball that bad?) We took the slashers up north, and hit them into the lake. Another 250 were scuffed up enough that you wouldn't want to use them in a round of play. We gave those to friends that we don't really care for. (Not really.) That means...we ended up with about 750 "good ones."

From one of my bedroooms upstairs...I took 237 pictures of bathing robins. This is one of the 20-25 "good ones." I like the way she puts herself into her work. A blue-jay, and a grackle chased her off, but she just kept coming back for more. It got up to 86 today, and when it gets that hot...I try to change the water daily. I love to watch them splish-splashing away. Just one question though...How can you drink the water that you bathe in?

After 3-4 more forays into various golf course ponds...We hung up our golf-ball pilfering spikes. My dad was a minister. We could just imagine the headline of the local paper. "AREA MINISTER AND HIS KIDS CAUGHT STEALING GOLF BALLS FROM RIVER FOREST COURSE. The church would not have been happy taking the bail money out of the collection plate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.