michigan man

By outdoorguy

Kit the kit...Backyard Babies

WE"VE GOT YOUNGUNS!!! WE"VE GOT YOUNGUNS!! (That's what you call children when you've got a little southern blood in you.) My daughter spotted this kit while I was in the living room playing ball with my grandson Merrick. I had to look up what you call a baby squirrel. They are called kits, pups, or kittens. I named this guy Kit the kit, after legendary western scout Kit Carson. I hope he has a sister. We will call her Caboodle. Kit and Caboodle. (That is on my list as being one of the 100 most annoying sayings. I think it is #28.)

In case you were wondering...her are the top three most annoying sayings.
1. "At the end of the day".....(way too overused.)
2. "You know what I'm saying?" "Of course I know what you're saying!! I just listened to you say it!!"
3. (Two young kids speaking), "And I was "like" talking....And she was "like"...not listening, so...I "like" asked her what was up with that? And, she was "like" I'm so sorry." Drives me nuts....What ever happened to "like"good old-fashioned English?

Speaking of babies...We spent 7 hours in the hospital with my oldest daughter last night. From 7:30 to almost 3 a.m. Stomach issues. She is an RN at this hospital. Have they never heard of preferential treatment? "We've got an employee. Let's get her in a room with a blanket and a pillow." Did'nt happen.

I've seen a lot of times in nature where a parent has to chose between themselves or their babies. Sad to watch. It comes down to the idea of self-preservation. "I want to save them...but, I just can't. I have to leave now to save myself."

Not so with humans...or at least not with me. As Mr. T used to say..."I pity the fool who ever messes with, or tries to harm my kids." I would literally fight to the death to protect them. I don't even like to see them in pain. Let my daughters stomach problems transfer to me. Let my sons ankle break be on my foot. Let me have daughter #2's baby. (Whoaaaa Nellie...maybe I just went too far...the thought of having a watermelon come out of my nether regions hurts just thinking about it.)

Kit the squirrel will hopefully grow up and venture off on his own. My goose family of 19 goslings will do the same. BUT...my babies...however old they get...will always be my babies. I "like" really love you.

P.S. I should have "shopped" out the bird poop, but I think it gives the picture a little character.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.