Kayak Clouds

The only 3 kinds of clouds I know are cumulus, cirrus, and Cloud Nine. Who knew there were also kayak clouds?

I don't normally do skies, but I hit a smooth-as-silk stretch of the lake, and my eyes were drawn upward and downward. This picture doesn't show it, but to the right was a big ominous gray cloud. (More about that later.)

On my flickr page is another cloud shot, and a couple of insects on pink water flowers. The flies were disgusting! Look if you must.

I had to get back to shore, because I was going to watch the baby. 150 yards out...and the gray cloud was coming quick. A strong wind picked up, and the rain started falling. "PADDLE FASTER! I HEAR BANJO MUSIC!"

It wasn't that bad, but I had trouble getting to the dock. Then, I still had to tie it down in the back of my truck. In 20 minutes...it was over. When I got home, my swing was blown over.

Makes me think twice about the short kayak trip we have planned to Lake Superior. They don't call them the Great Lakes for nothing. If I struggled on this tiny shallow lake...just imagine a float on the big boy. I think I better make a few phone calls.

LARGE gives you just a glimpse of my red kayak. I must name her soon...I hate just calling her a red kayak.

I got a cute baby squirrel a year ago. (Thumbnail to the right.)>>>>>>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.