2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Unwelcome garden visitors

Very little chance to get out with my camera today. This was a quick shot before I went to work. This huge slug was making its way up the garden wall. I think it is a Large Black Slug (Arion ater) despite the pale appearance. The orange stripy skirt is the key feature. I'd rather it wasn't munching my pinks....all the flower buds have been eaten now and the plants are looking a bit sickly. I removed about 4 other smaller slugs before I headed off to work.

Busy day. Lots happening. I'm trying to organise a meeting in Japan later in the year and it is proving more difficult than I'd expected.

Book group in the evening. Our latest book was 'I think I love you' by Alison Pearson. It is a story about a girl's devotion to David Cassidy. Great fun and several of our group had been keen fans. He passed me by (as did Donny) - I don't think I was quite old enough to get caught up in the teenage mania. The book mentions a concert he did in White City where a fan died in the crush....one of our members remembered that she'd been there as she was reading the book. Good discussion and lots of memories of platform shoes, a single 'phone in our parents' freezing hall and teenage magazines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.