Appreciation

By Appreciation

Raindrops on Rhoddies

...these are a few of my favourite things. When the sun shines, when the birds nest in our bird box, when I'm feeling so fed up with the rain that I can't be bothered to blip, I simply remember the cake in the fridge and then I don't feel so bad!

Most of my effort just now is being ploughed into my father, it needs my attention and also the sharp brain of the four of us to work out how best to protect both him and my mother. Systems should not be this complex, or unfair. There is a will to challenge everything, yet a heart that says don't rock the boat too much...yet!

My No. 1 is doing what most men do and complaining that he is absolutely fine and that he could be working! I see the bigger picture, I know that he will get swept away with work and end up sitting or standing longer than he should and that the end result could be unthinkable. More importantly I see that he won't be able to play sharkie in the swimming pool with the kids if we ever get on holiday. I understand his boredom, his sense of feeling 100 times better than he was and therefore he could be catching up, contributing, using his brain instead of watching Baseball on loop.

So I return to the cake in the fridge, and then I don't feel so bad. Time to bake some more though. This isn't doing the bikini or the Take That boys any good at all. After the news last week of Middle aged women on drinking binges before the concerts and making a fool of themselves I can't decide if I am feeling smug or concerned that the media's interpretation of someone middle aged is in their 30's. Hold tight for reports of OAP and pals on the rampage in Glasgow on Thursday night. Now that does conjure up an image of a few of my favourite things!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.