55North

By cordelia

The Case of the Missing Earring

Today I'm sad.

I was brushing my teeth last night when I glanced in the bathroom mirror and I noticed only one earring.

"How long have I been wearing one earring?" I enquired of my beloved.

"No idea, I hadn't noticed" he replied. Oh how the love fades!!

How could you possibly be sad over an earring I hear you say. You are thinking that, now be honest!

It's not just any old earring ... it's one I've worn almost every day for the past 25 years ... a pair of pretty Celtic knots that were bought in Stirling on a visit to an old school friend who went to University in that beautiful city. I remember buying them like it were yesterday. It's been on holiday with me, on dates with me, on honeymoon with me, features in treasured photos of me with my wonderful children ... and grandson ... you get the picture!!

25 years? Yes, I hear you say [again? I must be cracking up!], it's about time I bought a new pair. I have more earrings; some beautiful ones costing 10 times the price that come out for special occasions ... but you know ... I feel naked without these ones.

I'll have a good hunt around the house and scour the grounds at work and I just know that I'll keep its forlorn partner pictured above for about another 6 years and eventually discard it precisely 3 days before it turns up in the sock drawer or an equally obscure place!!

PS Wonderful beloved hubbie turned the house upside down whilst I was at work and found the earring in one of our ensuites ... phew!!! Happy ending :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.