Columbus Avenue

We're looking south down Columbus Avenue at West 95th Street. It had been a dull day, and we were hanging photographs (and doing other things) in our newly-renovated NYC apartment. At 6 pm I realized I didn't have a blip, so I headed out. (Details are fun to view in large.)

This was the best of a few alternatives (shot just in about ten minutes, returning just ahead of our dinner guests). The steam rising in the middle distance is probably from some part of the NYC steam system, "which takes steam produced by steam generating stations and carries it under the streets of Manhattan to heat, cool, or supply power to high rise buildings and businesses." (Wikipedia has information on everything!)

Aside from the perspective I like the way the blip shows how the broad avenue has been subdivided, to provide a bike lane. This is quite recent--I think it postdates our leaving this area for Northampton in 2003 (let alone my sojourn on nearby 97th Street in the 1960s :) The cyclist in the red shirt is probably a delivery person.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.