pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

TWO FOOTER

The other day I put up a blip of a Spoonbill coming into land in a very similar manner to this one. The main difference being this is a two foot landing the spoonie's was a one foot job!

I saw a lady photographing today opposite where I was hiding. She was all set up with the requisite tripod - I wondered if she was attempting bird shots or if she was taking something different - I suspect the former.

My advise to her would be to get rid of the tripod - I always hand-hold. the movement of the birds is far too fast for succesful bird photography with a tripod! My birding endeavours are always to do with Bird Behaviour so a tripod doesnt make the grade.

There are a couple of circumstances I use my monopod - and one example would be Kingfishers - Reason being - they have quite a long scare distance. so I like to concentrate on a sharp shot with monopod help. Under these conditions I also do a bit of creeping and crawling and try and get as close as possible.

good luck.

rgds pooba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.