Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Anglophilia.......

.... sounds like a disease, and in a way, it is. Ever since I first started to read about England when I was a child, I have been increasingly fascinated by the culture and history. No place is perfect, but just thinking about castles, high teas, the drama of the wars and battles, the Roman influence, and so much more has always thrilled me to my toes!

Then, along came blipfoto..... photos and narratives by real, everyday sorts of folk, sharing photos of their culture, scenery, monuments and delicious looking foods.

Until blipfoto, the British Isles had always been an imagined place - real enough in history and geography, but only a dream of sorts in my mind.

Suddenly, I realized, this is a place I can visit (sounds pretty DUH!!, I know........)

Communicating through blips and blogs and emails with several UK blippers such as Art Quilter Pictures, Nell's World, and Lali's World, I was able to plan a trip and to feel at home in the UK before I even left Florida. I know I'm leaving out many of you, but there's a limit to how willing I am to cut and paste blipfoto addresses!!!

Thanks to merely a blip, I knew what the roads look like and was brave enough to rent a car so I could drive myself!

Several 'regulars' have seen the photos from my recent trip. But the pleasure didn't end with my return home.

I'm still an avid reader about all things British, and now, when I read about places and events in both fiction and non-fiction, I have scenery and a sense of geography to put with the words.

For instance, in Royal Flush 4th book down from the top, I read about eating neeps and tatties. Before blip, I'd never have known what that was, but thanks to onemanfourcats, the dish is as familiar and plain old American turnips and mashed potatoes!

The Dick Francis mystery thrillers take place on various race courses around the UK, and having driven past the towns, I can now 'see' where the books take place.

Ken Follet's Pillars of the Earth takes on new meaning when you have seen a couple of the great cathedrals, and even the ancient churches in smaller villages.

Ditto the English/Scots border surroundings of Hadrian's Wall. Will need to re-read a few books about the Roman habitation now that I've seen the hills and touched the wall itself.....

After the creature comforts like eating and sleeping have been taken care of, reading has always been my favorite pastime. Adding travel to the mix has increased the pleasure of this quiet hobby immensely.

PS - We had a wonderful rainstorm early last evening, and the sky looks like it might deliver more rain today - hooray!!!!!!












Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.