Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Spot the Dog

Two weeks ago the noises from my local cricket club had me reaching for my camera and walking out the front door like an amnesiac without their keys .... today it was the phut-phut-phut of a diesel engined barge on the local canal a hundred yards away that caused me to sprint up on the bridge.

We don't get many boats on our canal. There is a very boring little green thing that offers "rides for the handicapped" in a way that has all the political correctness of an episode of Life on Mars. Otherwise you can go months without seeing anything until Easter when the waterside pub half a mile away has a festival; that's when you get a little cluster of boats, a dubious jazz band, a few odd stalls, and strange men with beards and CAMRA cap badges.

So its not what you would call a living breathing waterway. But I think these guys came close; they looked like volunteers for the dredging and the hedging on the towpaths. As for the dog .... well if you can find him, he's the one taking it easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.