Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Last light over Westerwijtwerdermaar

First of all I would like to thank everyone for all your kind words on my 500th blip yesterday. You are amazing people. I'm sorry I won't be able to get back to you all and thank you personally; there's just not enough time but please know your kindness is very much appreciated.

About the title of this blip: yes, Westerwijtwerdermaar is actually a word. In fact, it's the name of the little canal you see in this picture. The word 'maar' is typically used in the province of Groningen in The Netherlands and it refers to a canal, but usually a small one like in this shot. This particular 'maar' is named after Westerwijtwerd, a small village through which it runs.

I had a nice bike ride from my house to the location; it's nice to be able to combine a workout with some photography. This is not the first blip shot at this location. Today's blip was shot standing on the bridge you can see in this blip.

Better in mega magnification mode!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.