Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Or rest if tired

Today I survived a 9 hour epic meeting from hell at work - so decided to crash out this evening and headed straight for the kitchen to make a curry before going to the cinema to see the new Transformers film.

The meal portion was huuuuuge, and that film is loooooooooong.... I think the technical hollywood term for both is "epic".

Either way - a really good action film and a bloomin tasty curry.

As I sauntered back in through the door after midnight, I found an A4 pile of guilt waiting for me on the radiator. I hadn't noticed it in my mission to amaze and delight the taste buds of my unsuspecting housemates, but that envelope contained my official Great North Run runners pack....

I recently got accepted to run for Children with Cancer UK, so will be trekking up to Newcastle on the 18th September to run the 13.1 miles and raise as much money as I can for a charity very close to my and my family's heart.

The year before i was born, my eldest brother died from Leukaemia. The thought that I need to be taking this seriously hit me like a tonne of bricks, and i felt very bad for eating crap and sitting on my arse all evening.

But temporary salvation was found in the form of the training plan included in the pack.

"Training Week 5

Wednesday: Steady run 45 mins Or rest if tired"

I followed my training plan to the letter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.