horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Paulina

I've not played about with high key shots much - only, really, a sheep shot from earlier this month. This, however, is Paulina. Who is no longer with us. And by no longer with us I mean she'll no longer be working with our team, but is off to travel the world with her boyfriend having finished her diploma at Edinburgh Uni, and is spending a year enjoying herself before taking up a legal traineeship. We haven't managed to put her off being a lawyer.

Paulina is Polish, her other half German, and was determined that there was no beer to rival that of Poland or Germany. Sadly All Bar One after work only had one Scottish beer of note available, Innis & Gunn - which while good, isn't a prime example. Ah well, I had to finish off the only-quarter-drained bottle. Shame.

Mel has started her four day weeks this week, so tomorrow morning I shall be getting up of my own accord. Booo! We'll see how much of the afternoon is taken up seeing if Murray can beat Nadal at Womblydun (I have my doubts). We've been asked if we want to get tickets to see the men's final on Sunday in the Cineworld in the glory of 3D. Hmmm. Even in straight sets that's almost three hours locked inside on what, at the moment, is forecast to be a lovely day. Take it to 5 sets and 5 hours... If you're a huge tennis fan (as our friend Mary, who has invited us, is) then I'm sure it's a top way to spend a day. As a general 'sports' fan... Not so sure. Now if Murray is playing I will watch, but likely in between doing stuff in the garden, or working on a bike, or going for a walk in the park or elsewhere.

Tennis is a summer sport. It's about being out in the sunshine. I'm not sure I see, completely, the attraction in putting on a pair of Elvis Costello specs for five hours in a windowless room...

Anyway, the point of today's post. Good luck Paulina, have a cracking year travelling home to Poland and Germany, then off to South America (and I do want to see the Machu Picchu pictures) and South East Asia. I'm not jealous. Oh no. Not in the slightest. Honestly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.