Displacement activities

By Detritus

It just keeps flowing...

This post used to be one of several holding a chain fence, to mark the boundary of the concrete paddling area. The river in Earlham Park is where I played as a young child, and we took Lil for a run there today, and girl had a cold paddle, in her shoes, against instructions. No surprise there then. Much has changed, but the river, and the belligerent nature of five year olds will always remain. And the stupidity of dogs - Lil stepped into the river, didn't realise she was standing on a rock, slipped off the edge and went under. Poor, wet, clumsy dog. It was however a relaxing family day to make up for the trauma of yesterday.

Whilst at work yesterday afternoon I had a telephone call to alert me that my son was missing. He was later found safe, thanks to the efforts of the police, a teacher and one of his friends, and is now horribly embarrassed. A day I will always remember, but not one to be marked in a blip. No image from yesterday would be one I'd want to return to. Above all, I'm impressed at the efforts of the professionals involved, and I remain very grateful.

It raises questions for the future, and there is in a sense a parallel with Blip. I joined Blip as a diary, of my mundane, everyday life - a record of triviality. The idea was it would prompt me to be creative, and drive me to make an effort to seek out interesting things to Blip, and to take the time to do so rather than remain absorbed in work. It has, to my mind, not really worked. Although I love looking at others images here, and have found people to be all round nice, I just haven't been able to push myself to use this the way I hoped. Too often my only spare moment has been thirty seconds with Lil crashed on the sofa.

I'm therefore dropping out here. I'll undoubtedly look around fairly regularly - I've always loved seeing photos more than taking them - but I doubt there will be much blipping from around here for a while.

If you've read all this, I admire your patience. I'll finish by saying thank you to the people who've kindly commented and shared their experiences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.