Paradiso

A bed on the beach... what a marvelous idea.

I was surprised to see these bunk beds sitting on the beach. Surprised and amused.

Woke up (much too) early today to take the girls snorkeling at the coral reef. They opted not to swim with the manta rays and the sharks. Come onnnnn, girls. Next time, they said. Evie positively LOVED snorkeling. We saw sea urchins (uni... oh.. yes, I wanted to eat them straight out of their spiny enclosures), other spiny things that suctioned to my hand and I didn't want to leave behind, beautiful little fish that swam around us and bit my fingers as I fed them. Evie said she'll never look at the ocean the same again. I love that. A completely new world has just opened up to her. She wants to get certified for scuba with me in December. Consider it done, my sweet sobrina.
Caroline, on the other hand, was terrified. I think it had something to do with the fact that the snorkel and mask didn't fit her tiny face. We'll know next time to bring their own masks so they can enjoy the underwater world.

And my favorite surprise of the day was when Mauricio told me he got a day pass to hang out at the hotel. Lovely indeed. I didn't want the day or night to end.

More from today on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.