The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Grasshopper

My walk today was a mixed bag - from the weather and wildlife point of view. I've blipped most of the butterflies which are around locally, except for the small heath, and I've found it impossible to get a decent photo of one of these, because apart from being tiny, they seem to settle at impossible angles, and the light catches them on ways that make it impossible to make the necessary camera adjustments before they decide to move on. The highlights today were a fledgling restart and a broad-bodied chaser - sadly too far away to get a proper shot. When the sun was out, the meadowland was alive with butterflies - small skipper and meadow brown predominantly, and the sound of grasshoppers. I think this one is a common green. He looks very fresh, and his wings don't seem to have unfolded properly yet. I don't know much about grasshoppers, so any info on this would be welcome.
More fungi as well. Puffballs - the small kind, and glistening ink caps. I got a message from our local recorder to say that my sightings on Tuesday weren't quite the earliest locally for those species, but close. and the nettle rust I photographed had only ever been recorded by him. Perhaps that says more about him that about the rust!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.