The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Rotherbug

As you can see, I've been out with my macro lens again. I returned to Woodhouse Washlands, a nature reserve which I walked through earlier in the week, and thought it would be good to go back for a more leisurely visit. A section of the River Rother flows through it, hence the temporary name I'm giving to this bug until someone is kind enough to ID it for me. Took lots of butterfly pics, but nothing new, and got a few pictures of a mink which was catching fish in the river, but not good captures, so I thought I ought to go with this colourful creature. I'd hoped I might get some shots of the banded demoiselles I saw during the week, but they had evidently dis-banded (see what I did there?) and although I saw a few, they were not settling anywhere likely to be within camera range. If you insist on seeing the other shots, there's a link here to my photostream
Post Script: ID'd as common red soldier beetle, also known as the hogweed bonking beetle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.