wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Not quite tall enough

I have a terrible habit. I'm not sure if Blip is the place to reveal this, but it's crucial to understanding this photo. Before that though, thanks everyone for your ratings and comments yesterday, was totally not expecting so much love of that particular photo!

Whenever I go to an op-shop with a friend, with no intention of buying anything at all, I always find something. Sometimes more than one thing. Often the friend doesn't find anything, but my little bargain sniff-outing nose goes into action and I vacate the premises with arms full of unexpected clothing. Last week was no exception. Coffee with a friend turned into bemoaning the lack of decent winter clothing in local shops which then ended up with us in the Red Cross op-shop. I'd been on the look out for a new pair of jeans for a while, but refusing to commit to anything on the grounds of (1) too expensive (2) too many fashion eccentricities (3) my general dislike of jean shopping. And what appeared in front of me as I cruised around looking for something nice for my friend? A brand new pair of jeans, my size, with a tiny tiny bleach stain and ripped inside tag - a batch of donated 'seconds' I would say. The style, skinny legs, made me hesitate quite significantly - my thighs are designed for walking up steep hills - but I decided that for $8, how could they go wrong?

But still, they're just too long. Seriously, does ANYONE have legs this long? Ah well, that's what hemming is for.


And I have another confession. I ain't got a clue about black and white. I've read about it. I've seen it. I know how to make it. But I'm just not good at it. Usually I can't bear to remove the colours, so this is an exception, but beyond that? I just played with curves and things in GIMP, and this is what came out. How do you approach b&w? How should I approach it? How do I learn to bear to get rid of the beautiful pretty colours and find the beauty in the shades of grey instead?

Well, my domesticity is calling, better finish hemming these jeans and making leek and ham soup. Last night I cooked an early birthday dinner for mum, including roast lamb, all the vegies, and a yummy pear and chocolate tart. There's still tart left. Calling me. From the fridge. 'Eat me, Eat me!' I hear it saying. Better go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.