hello again

By admirer

TWIN SEAGULLS

at the seaside this morning. Not so early as yesterday we went there, but still at 8.30 the beach was deserted. Half an hour later many joggers appeared and the jackdusts and gulls too.
I adore seagulls. As a young girl I threw breadcrumps out of my window, situated at the third floor (rather high up), and the gulls came flying and catching them in full flight. The beauty of it, thinking back I can remember the happiness I felt to be part of their world for these moments.
I take photos of gulls in their flight now and most of the time I catch only two little feet, or part of a wing, or just empty blue sky. Feel almost dizzy if I try too long.

I am fond of journals with quotations and I am wondering if I can make make such choices too. For the moment I prefer to put a proverb with my journal, relating too the subject. What about "gullible". I often have to look words up in the dictionary, learning now and then a bit more, but I have here also A owrld treasury of Proverbs. 15.500 proverbs drawn from 25 languages, edited by Henry Davidoff.
Gullible only slightly related to the blip, I know.
It goes like this: He thinks the moon is made of green cheese.
There is a fable of La Fontaine about a crow and a cheese. But has that something to do with this proverb. There are no explanations in this book. And who cares about proverbs anyway. They are old-fashioned and too obvious for the modern woman.
A Jackdust did find an orange. look here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.