air and kilometers

By brittanielynn

frivolous me

3/365
I'm being a bit vulnerable by posting this picture up of myself, but I think I deserve to have my frivolous tendencies rubbed in a little to teach myself a lesson.

Today I made a mistake and accidentally bought a wedding dress on my first go-round. Everyone fervently told me not to buy a dress the first time out, but I got caught up in the moment and felt like I wanted to simplify the process, so I ended up buying this crazy little number. My mother loved every dress I put on, which was about six, and loved the idea that I wanted to get my dress with only her as my witness.

When I got home, I realized the err of my ways because of how poorly this dress photographed! While it might be stunning on someone else, I felt like the frumpy queen of the world wrapped in yards of gauze. The scary part is, I literally CONVINCED myself that this was the perfect dress in the store! How will I avoid doing that next time? My facial expression in this picture perfectly displays the mixture of emotions I was experiencing.

Needless to say, Stephen was pretty annoyed when he heard the news that I had whimsically purchased this dress. So, as soon as he got home drove me directly back to the store to get a full refund. Bottom line, I need more time to process and not just throw my judgment to the wind! Therefore, faster and sooner are not always better. I seem to be learning that lesson quite often these days.

Hopefully patience will lead me to the perfect dress. Hopefully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.