Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Beached

These canoes rested just out of reach of the high tide, at Whitstable this afternoon. We spent a few hours throwing stones in the sea, collecting seaweed, and generally having a good time. Most of the grown ups enjoyed a Jamie Oliver party back at the beach huts, even though he didn't turn up!

I wanted to capture the movement in the shallow waves using a long exposure. The light was so bright and strong, so this was going to be a challenge. I set the aperture as small as possible (f 36 for this lens), but still the shutter speed was too fast. Then I remembered my polarising filter in the bag and dragged it out. The result is not as sharp as I'd like, thanks to the slightly fragile lightweight tripod, but there it is. Oh and the purple drink bottle I didn't even notice until later. Hate rubbish louts.

What I'll really need is a neutral density (ND) filter if I'm going to do much more of this type of photography, but then I'd need to visit the beach more but I suppose I could suffer that hardship.

I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.