Square Wheels

By familyguy

Gleann Einich

Long overdue is my latest blip, but I think it's time to return. Summer is here, and there is much to experience and explore.

I recently embarked on XC Mountain Bike trip to Glen Feshie, just south of Aviemore in the Cairngorms, and was quite simply amazed at just how scenic the area was. Such was the case, that I instantly started to plan my next trip to the adjacent Glen - Gleann Einich.

Today was the day. I recruited my fiancé & her sister this time, and what a day we picked; it was a scorcher! The route was equally magnificent, as we made our way through Rothiemurchus forest and then followed the river upstream to Loch Einich which is sandwiched in between the daunting slopes of Braeriach and Sgor Gaoith. A quick dip in the loch was followed by a fast and thrilling downhill ride back down the glen. This was every mountain bikers dream.

The Cairngorms seems to have much on offer; I've already turned my attention to the Burma Road for my next outing.

Route Map: http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/umS83gmiGaw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.