Those Simple Things

By simplethings

Frank.

This is Matthew David. He's a funny kid; very rambunctious. One day, when Matt came over, he marched right into the living room and began talking to everyone. My brother asked him what his name was, and Matt said, "I'm Frank." He has no recollection of saying this, and it makes him angry if you refer to him as "Frank". It is his fault, but he denies every moment of it, "My name is Matthew David!"

We visited my uncle today, celebrating the Fourth of July. Hot dogs, hamburgers, and chicken all around! Being the middle of the age groups, not a little kid but definitely not an adult, the children are attracted to me. After I had been shot a couple of times with a squirt gun, I decided it was done. I got up, and everyone ran away. I managed to finagle a squirt gun from my sister, and the adults pointed me toward the cooler full of melting ice. Then I let it rip. No one was safe. At one point, Matthew came up and threw a water ball at me, we traded. He had another gun, but I had the ball. I promptly filled the ball in the ice water, and squeezed it over Matt's head. I made sure all the children got a turn with that. Then, another one of my cousins found a plastic cup, and put the water in that. Their mother gave me a bigger cup. Everyone was soaked by the time my mom yelled for a hiatus. Then I broke out the camera and entertained with that. After I called the camera off-limits, the bubbles became a main source of attraction. Matthew finally crawled up on his father's lap and began to calm down. I took pictures of all of my cousins, but I decided that Matthew was my favorite part of today. Therefore, he gets to be in the limelight.

Happy fourth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.