Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Beauty in motion

This morning as we left the campground for more civilized areas, I caught sight of an Osprey nest up on top of a telephone pole. Husband obligingly pulled off to the side of the road so I could snap away!

As I walked toward the pole upon which the nest was situated, the adult Osprey began calling out to me in rather shrill "shrieks". Taking this to possibly mean I had ruffled her feathers, (pun intended) I mindfully crossed the road. The bird seemed to settle down...then, suddenly, another Osprey appeared and began to fly around.

I half-heartedly tried to capture the motion of the flying bird as the parent in the nest warned the fledglings to lie low..the little heads that had been visable previously became invisible! Understanding that in order to capture a bird in flight, one must kind of speculate the trajectory, I aimed ahead and shot as soon as the auto-focus grabbed sight of the bird, and to my pleasure, the capture was pretty acceptable!

What a blurry, busy weekend! I am thankful that holiday weekends are more rare than the norm....otherwise, I am not sure I would even still be breathing!!

To my US friends, I hope you had a splendid and safe Fourth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.