My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

Evil Poison, or the old way?

We have been invaded.

Over the last few weeks I have seen a slow pouring of Ants, coming from a gap in the floor by the Aga.

I was not too worried at first, then saw that we had a real problem.

I hate the idea of poison and massive death, so I placed a Dyson by the corner, and sucked them up every hour or so.

I had a fantasy that they would, like those one in the Disney films, all 'decide' to move away. Decide that being Hoovered up was not going to help the Ant Community.
This didn't happen. General Ant-Craig was under The Aga and urging them to move the drinks cabinet nearer to Berlin-Bin ( Black Adder).

I looked up Ant Invasion on Google.

Lots of advice.

One thing stuck in my mind: They HATE vinegar.

I went to the local ironmongers (hardware store). They advised a chunky little gel, in a plastic cat safe flying saucer, which the ants would be attracted to, and then suck up and take to their young.

I found this idea awful. But bought the gel.

I then had a moral dilemma. Vinegar, or baby killing gel?

I tipped some vinegar, via a funnel, into their entrance, at the corner of the Aga. And waited.

They seemed to skate on the vinegar. Ignored it, were not phased by it, in the least.

So I put down the infant killing gel.

That evening, no ants. I felt very guilty. They had buggered off after the vinegar after all.

The next morning, they were back, just a few.
I hoovered them up, as I have for a week or so now. And put more bait down. And more vinegar.

Now there are none.
I think it is the vinegar. I need not have 'wasted' the babes. The parents could have fed them, and then relocated. Maybe.

I will never know if I took the right steps. But this little problem has bugged me for some time. I felt like an evil god when I stamped on the on button of the Dyson, to such them up, engine roaring. Like a monster in a sifi movie.
But they had outstayed their welcome. I had sprayed their entrance with glue, I had set giant machinery against them, and then white wine vinegar. If that did not drop the hint, I am afraid their hours were numbered.

I hope the ant community does not make a return visit. I have a lot of vinegar. Even if it is 2 years past it's best by.

I hope this blip will be helpful for any other invaded blippers. Vinegar. Save your money!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.