While on my runs

By waipushrink

The north wind did blow

Woke to the wind whistling and the rain falling and the dark darkling. So I deferred a run until later. Easy to do today as Wednesday is report writing day. The rain came and went, and when I chose to run, there were long dry periods, and only light rain occasionally. So despite the rain it was a pleasant enough run.

I went over to Coxs Bay again, where this week it was high tide, and the strong northerly was whipping up waves which are big for this generally very sheltered bay. Went down the steps almost to the water, to get this shot.

Although Auckland gets no snow, and we have no robins, nor any barns in the city, I was reminded of the 16th century nursery rhyme:

The north wind doth blow, and we shall have snow,
And what will poor Robin do then?
He'll sit in the barn, and keep himself warm,
And tuck his head under his wing, poor thing.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.