earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Growing into yourself

Firstly, thanks again for the well wishes re the update. It has finally been done. On the last train back yesterday evening at 11pm and in again on the first train this morning at 6am, so not a lot of sleep (because I also had to grab a very late dinner and watch the Tour de France highlights), but so far so good. At least the phone isn't ringing off the hook!

I thought it was about time I blipped one of these cygnets. Can you still call them a cygnet when they are this big? Indeed, when does a cygnet officially become a swan? This is one of three that I blipped back on May 23rd with Look here you two. I'm afraid we lost one, and I would guess that it was the little one having a ride in that photo, but the other two have flourished, growing at an astonishing rate. I've taken a few pictures of them at various stages, but the truth is that they really are the ugliest things while they are growing into their full plumage. The pictures have not been pretty! It is quite amazing that such a fat lump of disheveled fluff will turn into something as immaculately beautiful as the adult swan. This blip shows that they are finally beginning to acquire a degree of elegance. They are indeed growing into themselves, On the other hand, this Almost Blip shows that they still have some way to go!

Regular visitors may well recognise the 'Bridge of Blips' in the background (see the week of images from this spot from June 20th to 24th). This family of four have been camped down on this one same bit of grass and weed beside the canal for quite a few weeks now. And they terrorise the walkers and cyclists. But not me! I've seen them have a go at a lot of people just passing by but they don't seem to mind me at all. Have I won their trust somehow? Or perhaps they just like the idea of being blipped!

NB The amazing Mollyblobs identifed yesterday's grass as Yorkshire Fog! How very appropriate indeed. I'm learning something new every day here. Thanks MB.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.