The Egg Man

Today has probably been the most unremittingly dire day of weather since I started blipping. It's chucked it down pretty much all day long. But although the rain has been heavy I'm actually feeling rather light. I'm experiencing a certain joy and a sense of pride in getting this major update carried out this week, all issues sorted, the system performing well. My responsibilities have been lessened for a while, and I intend to make the most of the next couple of weeks.

It's taken a while today to fix the last few problems and I'm still back home quite late. This was the first of just a handful of shots taken today in the rain, from the cover of the market stalls in the centre of Shipley. There was a lot of stoicism on display. I so admire these folk at the market. It's not an easy life, and this weather must be grim in terms of getting wet setting up and taking down, and probably a scarcity of punters willing enough to get out in the rain rather than shop in the comfort of the supermarket. But they were all smiling and joking. I was particularly drawn to this guy with his improvised head protection of a clear plastic bag!

So, after a very hard week I would just like to thank everyone who has stopped by to comment and offer support. I'm left speechless by your generosity and thoughtfulness. It's only been possible to respond to just a handful of you and I apologise for that. All I can offer up is to see again that my journal owes everything to you, because if it wasn't for your enthusiastic feedback there is no way I'd be out with the camera at all. I'm deeply humbled by all your kind words. Just thank you. And have a wonderful weekend - despite the weather,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.