Fings wot I see

By dominic

Mummy?

Bit of a turn of events.
As they're so far away I'm going to be putting Johnny up for a few weeks until his wing heals. If he can fly he will be released back into the wild. If he can't I either have to get a licence to look after him permanently (apparently it's not too hard to get) or I deliver him to a seagull sanctuary in Carlisle. As sad as I will be to see him go I think he would be happier there with other seagulls to make friends with. Hopefully though he will regain his power of flight and take to the skies with the other seagulls/bandits.

He was very alert and sociable today and followed me out of the shed when I changed his water tray. Bit of a drama when he clambered up onto the lounger and started cawing very loudly. Within 30 seconds every seagull in Inverkeithing was circling overhead and although he seemed very keen to be with them I put him back in the shed (adult seagulls will often kill and eat baby ones that aren't their young,especially if they are injured)
and the chances of one of them being his actual mum are pretty slim as I found him in Edinburgh.

I fear I will shed a tear when it's time to say goodbye, I have become rather fond of him.
Right, I've got to go to the fishmonger and try and haggle a few fish scraps out of them!

If anyone wants to donate to the save johnny effort I've set up a facebook page where you can throw in a few quid if it you feel like it :)

I realise a lot of people will be animal lovers too, please rest assured I have spent a long time on the phone with the bird rehabilitation centre and I'm carrying out their instructions on diet, water, housing and handling etc to the letter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.