Capital adventures

By marchmont

30 hour day

My last day 'on holiday'. I was up early to be the perfect house guest - strip the bed and wash bedding, clean the shower room, mop floors and of course finish packing. Then off to 1 Mont Kiara Mall to replenish the milk supplies, buy a cake for lunch and candles (for the Vera Wang candlesticks we gave them on their wedding day), think about buying a Tiger (no), and after much deliberation, a yellow mini rose for W H. I really wanted an orchid but there were no pretty ones and although W H doesn't have a good track record with house plants I'm hoping the yellow rose WILL survive.

After lunch down to the pool for a last laze, swim and the end of 'The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest', finished at 5 p.m. Thought the last lines of the book proper (before the author's notes) was something I should be bearing in mind and working towards.

#1 son was home before 6 by which time I was showered, changed, sewing cats and channel hopping Australia Network, Al Jazeera, Euronews and Luxe. What a choice!

Then the 3 of us went for a last meal to a Taiwanese restaurant across in Desa Sri Hartamas before heading the 70 kms or so out to KLIA, designed, my daughter in law architect tells me, by a Japanese architect.

Caught a really quick blip of the check in area while we were having a last coffee. #1 son doesn't do big farewells but I did manage to extort a hug from him. It was sad to go, but the time had come. I've had a great time in Malaysia, getting to know my new daughter and spending time with my son and seeing abit of the country.

Long day of course as I regained the 6 hours I'd lost on the way out from Schiphol to KLIA. The plane was nearly full so it looked like it was going to be a long night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.