An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Aubeterre-sur-Dronne

Woke up this morning to clouds! The drop in temperature (24 degress with a soft breeze) was very welcome though, as I find it impossible to wander around doing the touristy bit when it's so scorchio!

Another lazy morning eating freshly baked french bread with melted goat's cheese, coffee and almond croissants. Mmmmmmm.....

E,K, J & A headed off to Bergerac for the day and we headed off to find the local golf course so D could book a round for K & him for tomorrow. Unfortunately when we got there, the course was only 9 hole and although it all looked lovely to me, D described the holes as "dull as ditchwwater" and decided to look elsewhere (as I type him and K are still looking at the map trying to find something within an hours travel. Seems we picked a non-golfy area! Ooops)

Stopped at the small town of Aubeterre-sur-Drone on the way home and blipped so many pics of it, it has taken me the best part of an hour to choose which one to blip! What a beautiful place. Pretty tree lined square with lots of tables, small shops and an art gallery, ceramics studio and pottery. Lots of interest for us tourists but still very French. Everyone we spoke to was so friendly. In all the years we have been coming to France we have been welcomed so warmly by locals.

Just to the left of where I was standing when I took this pic, is a little shop called Coco and I just wanted to buy everything in it! Beautiful furniture and knick knacks and a massive wall clock......and I mean massive (it was nearly my blip!) that would be perfect for a wall in the hall of our new house. Not sure how we would get it home though. Need to get my thinking cap on!

D took A to the art gallery while I lusted after everything in Coco. When D came back he told me I should go and look at the beautiful leather handbags for sale in the art gallery. Headed there and saw them....they were indeed beautiful....but the cheapest was 290 euros! I'd rather pay cargo charges to get the clock shipped home!

Now back at the holiday house, sky is blue again and G&T delish. K just about to light the BBQ.

Can't believe it's Wednesday already. :(


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.