Day By Dave

By daybydave

My first childhood friend.

I seem to be stuck in reminiscence mode at the moment.

When we moved to London we lived in Elers Road in Northfields, Ealing. We got there when I was one and left when I was 4 and still, marginally, pre-school. I'd like to say this was the house we lived in, but we didn't. We lived about 100 yards to the left in a downstairs flat. But I visited this house on many occasions. Because once I was old enough I had a friend to play with. He was the son of my doctor who worked in the surgery next door. His name was Paul. They had moved to London around the same time from Nuneaton. And we spent much time playing together.

Once we moved, I lost touch unless we visited the doctor. But to all intents and purposes my first friend became the first ex-friend I had as well. Us four year olds, we were really fickle.

Then, maybe some 15 years back, my mum rang me and asked if I watched Eastenders. "Why?" said I. "Because there is a guy who's on there who looks just like Dr Bradley. It must be one of his sons".

And indeed it was. I wouldn't have recognised him, he'd grown a bit, but he did look like his dad. He left Eastenders and last time I saw him he was in Holby City.

Whether you recognise him or not, this is him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.