an image of teamdel

By teamdel

This is not a spinning bike

Years ago I got on an exercise regime before I got married in order to be not quite such a fatty in my wedding pictures. To do this I bought an exercise bike. I was very good at using it but after a month I burnt out the cable in it and so needed to buy a more sturdy, reliable model.

What I ended up with is what I thought was called a spinning bike, it certainly was called that when I bought it anyway. Well I thought it was called that until today.

I got married a few years back now and have not clambered back on board this bike since really and so last week decided to sell it on a well known auction web site. This seemed to be going well with lots of views and at last count 15 watchers.

That was until this afternoon when my listing was suspended due to reasons of breaches of copyright to a third party. I contacted the third party who mailed me back telling me that I could not use the words "Spin", "Spinner" or "Spinning" in my listing as they were registered trademarks belonging to them and that as they did not make my bike I could not use any of those words at all. I thought spinning bikes were a type of exercise bike, it would appear they are not. Not only that the words belong to them and they do not want to share.

Strangely they seem to have recalled the email now also, luckily I had forwarded it on to another email address and so still have it.

Surely this is madness. Mind you they were not totally unhelpful and offered an alternative description for me to use to relist the bike which I have used.

So now on a shorter listing with no views and no watchers on my listing of my STATIONARY BIKE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.