michigan man

By outdoorguy

Sharing the Road

Last month I shared this sidewalk with a lobster. I still don't know how it got there, and haven't seen it since. I was hoping to see it in another month or so...and have it weigh in at about a pound or a pound and a half. That would have been tempting. I could have boiled it up, and had my sister pull the "meat" off for me. With todays little hopper...at least I can assume it came from a nearby nest.

Now to guess what it is...I'm going with a baby grackle without the blue headgear on it yet. I've seen them in the area, along with some red-winged blackbirds. Mom and Dad were not concerned with me talking to the baby. That leads me to believe it wasn't a blackbird. The blackbirds will bomb you. Feel free to offer any input if you're a birder.

After getting a couple of pretty good dragonflies lately...I walked to one of my favorite spots to see them. The lily pads and other water plants were all ripped out. "OH NO....YOU DIDN'T." A new kayak launch was in its place. The location doesn't make sense. There is a boat launch 40 yards away where the boats and the kayaks put in. Is there a secret war between fishing boats and kayaks that I don't know about?

If I was 15 years younger...some heads would roll. "COMMON SENSE...PEOPLE...COMMON SENSE!!!" Trust me...you never want to make a mailman angry. "WHEN WE GO POSTAL...IT IS NOT A PRETTY SIGHT!!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.