frames of mind

By themike

80 percent

(pictured: bib on a child's seat at Fresh Choice)

I really need to get more sleep. I've been waking up late for the past 4 or 5 months now, all because of that blasted WoW game. That, and my lack of self-discipline.

I was hoping to catch up on my sleep today and wake up at some hour past 10, but alas, it was not meant to be. Kelvin called me up from the car dealership asking for a ride back home while his car got serviced. Oh well. Sleep will hafta wait till tomorrow.

Two good things came out of me dragging myself out of bed early to pick him up: 1) I got him to help me with some quests in Hellfire Peninsula (yes, that's more WoW speak), and 2) shortly after the required ride-share back to the car dealership, I got to have an important lunch at Fresh Choice with Anny.

The lunch wasn't important because of anything having to do with Anny (who in the grand scheme of things, isn't all tha--- just kidding!); rather, it was important because after the meal, I finally decided to curb my bad eating habits and only eat till I'm 80% full. This decision was made after I ate dessert, which ended up being a cup of pineapple wedges... plus a cup of vanilla softserve because I'm weak and just couldn't resist.

I've noticed I've been eating a lot more lately (especially at lunch), and it's starting to bother me. In the past, this hasn't been a problem, since my mutant metabolism(tm) has always compensated by not letting me put on any weight. But it seems like the ol' furnace is starting to die down a bit, and the weight isn't as easily held off as it used to be. The fact that I still enjoy eating greatly (and always insist on dessert) doesn't help.

So, friends who happen to be reading, I ask you this simple favor: don't rely on me being the human garbage disposer I used to be. And remind me of the 80% rule if you think I'm breaking it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.