frames of mind

By themike

a fish called "el terrible"

(pictured: one of two of my parents' fish. I hate this fish. He's the devil incarnate)

After waking up at 3:30 in the afternoon, I went to go visit my parents, who, it turns out, tried calling me three times earlier at more reasonable "my son should definitely be up by now" hours.

Unfortunately, when I got there, they were away at a concert with their friends, and only Jennifer was home. I gave her the white zip-up hoodie that I ordered online that ended up being too small for me, and waited patiently for my parents to return by watching a really bad Korean horror flick on OnDemand.

It turns out my parents are already in the closing stages of getting their new house up in "that one city", and I'm excited for them, albeit cautiously excited. I still worry about how hard my Dad's commute will be after the move, and whether or not he'll be able to transfer closer to his new home. I also worry about any additional expenses related to buying a new home and moving that they may not have thought of (although my Mom assures me they've got everything covered. And she'd never lie to me. My Mom is a saint.). Most of all, I worry that their new budget will be so tight that they won't be able to enjoy much outside their new home (but really, that's not much to worry about since I can always help them out with the financials (yes, I'm using that word as a noun)). I guess time will tell. As long as they're happy and remain happy with the new digs, I'll be able to add my happiness along with theirs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.