The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Butterfly morning

A grayling butterfly rests on limestone scree, Arnside Knott.

It was a warm, bright, windy morning before the heavy rain arrived later in the day. I had a walk over the Knott looking for Scotch Argus butterflies which in England are found here and at only one other locality (numerous in Scotland though as the name suggests). The Argus didn't show. There were large fritillaries darting about, but none were willing to be photographed or identified perhaps as one of the other specialities of the area, the High Brown Fritillary.

The Graylings were more obliging. These butterflies tend to sit still relying on their cryptic colouration and markings when perched on stones and bare ground, and they can be approached with care. This one was unusual in that he didn't tuck in his forewings to hide the conspicuous eyespot, all the others I photographed did and rendered themselves much less obvious. I say he, as it probably is a male perched in his territory waiting for passing females.

The grayling is not uncommon in Britain, concentrated around the coast and in drier habitats inland where there is plenty of bare ground and stones. The limestone habitats around Morecambe Bay have strong populations.

Apart from that, I have spent most of the rest of the day preparing my final submission for an Open University module. I do a lot of writing in my working life, and yet when it comes to providing concise answers to the OU questions, I have struggled. I had hoped to finish it today, but it looks like that will now have to wait till tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.