The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Hop it, Gladders or The Reader

VIEWING LARGE IS NOT ADVISED

An early blip today to clear some space for completing the OU submission. A visit to the insect blip mine that is the Gait Barrows National Nature Reserve. The original plan was to follow yesterday's Grayling with another butterfly, and I did have some nice photographs of a very cooperative Ringlet that allowed me to get to my closest focussing distance.

But then I found this little fellow. I've never photographed a grasshopper before, least of all up close and personal like this. I have some other photographs showing the whole insect that should enable certain identification when I have a bit more time.

This follows on closely from yesterday's Grayling, so if you have time, please have a look at that.

Afternote: he's a bit stubbly and I particularly like his baldpate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.