JustBrian

By justbrian

Boat on the Tyne

Death is nothing at all
I have only slipped away
into the next room

I am I, and you are you:
what ever we were to each other
that, we still are

Call me by my old familiar name,
speak to me in the easy way,
which you always used,
put no difference in your tone,
wear no forced air
of solemnity or sorrow.

Laugh as we always laughed
at the little jokes we shared together.
let my name ever be
the household name that it always was.
Let it be spoken without effect,
without the trace of shadow on it.

Life means all
that it ever meant.
It is the same as it ever was.
There is unbroken continuity.

Why should it be out of mind
because I am out of sight

I am waiting for you ,
for an interval,
somewhere very near,
just around the corner.

All is well


These words are no mine they are by Henry Scott Holland.

They were read out at the Funeral of an old friend who sadly passed away last week.

The ceremony was a Humanist one and was a lovely celebration of his life.

This Photo is of the River Tyne at Lemington.

I dedicate this to the memory of my dear friend Billy Charlton 18011934 to 04072011.

He was a lovely man of Newcastle, a true Gent through and through.

Billy's Song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.