Beefy Lorelei

By beefylorelei

Tina

These are "things" I did on my wood lathe.

The one on the left is my 2nd attempt at turning. I've no idea what it is but i liked the "female" shape to it and it's very tactile. The one on the right is an attempt to turn a wooden mushroom/toadstool but looks more like a wooden bedside lamp. The bit right at the top is still there as I haven't a clue how to mount it on the faceplate I have in order to get rid of that bit and sand it to a point or round.

So there you go. Very satisfying and a great way to spend a few hours focused on something very new. Waiting on a book to tell me some techniques and tips and hunting for a wee class to do sometime.

I'd love to get good enough at this to make gifts. I like wood and making something out of nothing, left bit was just lying around the shed and "bedsidelamp" was an old fencepost, and I like when you cut into old wood it starts to breath and release amazing smells trapped inside for years. No doubt I will be blipping more attempts in the future.

Thanks for looking.
B

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.