earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Broken Symmetry

Definitely worth viewing in large

I refer to the symmetry here as being broken by the lichen, the colour of which I really love. This spire almost appears to be alive as it glows with this strange symbiotic life form catching the evening sun.

It's been a very full-on day. On something of a whim I decided, at pretty much the last minute, to do the Addingham Gala Fell Race this afternoon. This is a relatively new event, but over a course used also for the Beamsley Beacon Fell Race, a race I once won, so it holds fond memories. This is running at its very purest. You start in the middle of a village, run to the top of the nearest hill, and back down again. It's a tradition that's been going on up here in the north of England for a very long time.

I have a reputation for running things a bit close to the clock, so people weren't too surprised to see me turn up on my bike in the gala field with the runners already lined up ready to start! While I pinned on my number I had two friends undoing my laces on each side so as to speed up the process of changing into my fell shoes. I was thinking that might have made a good blip!

I've not been doing a lot of running recently, and no racing at all, but I thought it was about time I reminded myself what it felt like. And it was good - despite the legs feeling a bit tight still from Thursday night's rapid bike ride. I finished in 30th place out of some 70 odd runners in a time of 50.36 for the 6 miles and 1,000 feet of climb. I took the descent steadily to preserve my legs a bit. We'll have to see how they feel in the morning.

It was then down to Ben Rhydding for the cricket where the 2nds won another thrilling encounter, with No.2 son performing well again and pleased with himself. I then went out on the bike to enjoy another beautiful evening and to try to capture my blip for the day. Took quite a few landscape shots and many trees, but in the end decided on this. It kind of grabbed me.

PS I'd like to use this platform to say a thank-you to Paul Wood. who organised the race today. He's one of those people who is always working behind the scenes to make things happen. His commitment to the local running club is total and seemingly tireless. I've got enormous respect. Cheers Paul. You truly are a hero!

PPS Thanks for all the appreciation of Moorland Shoreline yesterday, which you kindly put into the spotlight. I think this is one of my favourite blips to date, so that little accolade made me very happy tonight. Cheers guys.

PPS Any local blippers care to suggest where this was taken. I'll reveal the answer tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.