iDrive

This place isn't really set up for pedestrians is it? People seem to go everywhere on wheels. Or am I missing something?

We all headed out from the hotel this morning to walk along the main tourist drag in Orlando, but found it really difficult at points to do this. The pavements sidewalks would at points just stop and we had to negotiate gaps in hedges and confusing roads on foot. Even the crossing points at these intersections seemed to give you very little time to cross the six lanes of snarling traffic as the computerised voice would count down the seconds you had to cross as soon as you stepped off the kerb. I'm sure the pitch of his voice got higher as the it neared zero, just to add to the tension.

We did manage to make it in one piece though, and stepped into one of the many chain-type diners for a massive breakfast that kept us all going until tea-time and probably made it even more difficult to waddle across those crossings in the allotted time.

A visit it to Ripley's wonkily built 'Believe it or Not' museum was good fun, as was the mini-golf afterwards, though the stifling temperature was making that a bit uncomfortable towards the end.

For some unknown reason (heatstroke?) I happened to mention that the Florida Mall was nearby so shortly ended up cruising a huge parking lot trying to find a space before again negotiating a long pedestrian unfriendly hike to the mall itself and the blessed relief of air conditioning. Once inside it could've been any mall/shopping centre in any out-of-town retail park anywhere on the planet as a sinking feeling of precious holiday minutes slipping away overcame me. Still, the Apple Store provided some relief for us chaps and allowed us to plan out and email our directions back to the resort.

Filling up the car with gas was an enlightening experience too as I stood manically pressing buttons like a numpty and getting nowhere before selecting the 'speak to the cashier' one to be cheerily told "You have to pay for the gas first Sir". That was a new one on me so I replaced the nozzle and stepped indoors. When asked how much I wanted I said I don't know, I just want to fill it up and he paused slightly to look at the horns I must've just sprouted before suggesting I left my card to go and fill up. What a palaver, but that was tempered by the cost of the fuel compared to that back in the UK; what cost me under 25 dollars would've stung me for just over double that back home.

Now I think I know why Americans seem to prefer to drive everywhere.

Tonight's TV advert choice.

Sift and Toss: some new fangled way to clean cat litter trays. Not only does it show cat shit being sifted happily by numerous smiling human beings, what sold it for me was the additional fully rendered computer graphics simulation of exactly the same. I think I will have to get a cat just so I can use this, and the free cat deodoriser and pet hair removing mitten that comes with every purchase. Cat shit's never been more interesting.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.