A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Uranus

No not really but this photo caused me some confusion when I uploaded it until I 
remembered that I had taken a photo of some Black Throated Divers through my 
binoculars. You can just about see the birds in the top right corner. It does look rather like a close up of a planet though.

This is our first morning on Lewis. We arrived at 2am in the morning due to a ferry  problem (problem was the ferry we wanted was fully booked) and slept in our hired 
car for a few hours. We were woken at about 5am by a pattering noise, I thought it 
was rain but couldn't see any. Then I realised that little birds were pattering about
the windscreen of the car and eating the insects off the windscreen wipers.

We also saw Gannets, Great Skua, Razorbills, Wheatears, Arctic Skua and some 
sort of bunting I couldn't identify. I want to say Corn but my bird books show a big 
blank on Lewis for these. I also discoverd that the Song Thrushes (which are 
abundant here) are a special Hebridean subspecies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.